Voyages d’études — perspectives hors sites

CMA 2018 National Conference Logo
 


► Accueil


► Introduisant vos conférenciers principaux


Les dates du programme


► Lundi 9

► Mardi 10

► Mercredi 11

► Jeudi 12
 



PDFs
à télécharger

 

► Prospectus de
l’EXPO AMC 2018
(en anglais seulement)

► Plan de la salle
EXPO AMC 2018
(en anglais seulement)

 

Vendredi 13 – 14


Les voyages d’études vous donnent accès à l’expertise locale et vous permettent de parfaire vos connaissances sur des approches pratiques que vous pouvez utiliser dans vos institutions. Vous aurez l’occasion d’explorer systématiquement chaque lieu visité de A à Z. Vous prendrez connaissance du travail exemplaire accompli afin de remplir nos mandats traditionnels. Vous découvrirez aussi différents aspects du tourisme culturel et patrimonial. Vous acquerrez les connaissances nécessaires pour mettre des plans d’action en œuvre dans votre institution. Le Congrès de l’AMC 2018 offre un éventail de voyages d’études. Tous les circuits partent de l’hôtel Sheraton Wall Centre. Le coût des voyages comprend l’entrée dans chaque lieu visité, les visites guidées, les repas, le transport et l’hébergement (s’il y a lieu). Vous aurez besoin de chaussures ou de bottes de marche confortables, ainsi que d’un coupe-vent imperméable et chaud. Ajoutez une tuque et des gants et vous serez prêts à affronter toutes les conditions météorologiques, au cas où le printemps se ferait attendre! Et n’oubliez surtout pas votre appareil photo!

Study tours icon

 
 

Deux jours — Départ de l’autobus à 7 h

Tofino, là où finit la route — Île de Vancouver :
une expérience de deux nuits suivant le congrès et comprenant notamment la visite du Nanaimo Museum, de Cathedral Grove et de la baie Clayoquot.

 
  Study tour Photos  
             
 

C’est ici que finit la route! Bienvenue au paradis de la pêche, du kayak, de l’observation des baleines, de la faune et des oiseaux, de la randonnée, de l’observation des tempêtes et d’une scène artistique dynamique ancrée dans la nature et la culture des Premières Nations. Sise dans la réserve de la biosphère de l’UNESCO de la baie Clayoquot, Tofino déploie sa beauté et ses activités sur quelque 400 000 hectares de terres et de baies marines, aboutissant toutes dans un bassin hydrographique central. Les Premières Nations Nuu-chah-nulth se sont établies dans la baie Clayoquot il y a des milliers d’années. Vendredi matin, nous quitterons tôt Vancouver à bord d’un autobus pour nous rendre à Horseshoe Bay où nous prendrons le traversier vers Departure Bay à Nanaimo, un trajet de deux heures. Vous pourrez admirer tranquillement les magnifiques paysages tout en prenant votre déjeuner à vos frais. Un autobus nous attendra à l’arrivée et nous emmènera au Nanaimo Museum, pour une brève visite. Situé dans le centre-ville, le musée présente des expositions interactives et informatives sur l’histoire de Nanaimo. Vous pourrez également visiter la construction la plus emblématique de la ville, le Bastion de trois étages érigés en 1853 par des travailleurs de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à l’aide de techniques de charpenterie traditionnelles. Au fil des ans, des tractations politiques et foncières ont entraîné le déménagement de cette robuste structure de bois deux fois. Nous prendrons ensuite la route vers le populaire Coombs Market où nous dînerons. Selon la petite histoire du lieu, après quelques verres de vin, les propriétaires du bâtiment à la toiture recouverte de gazon ont eu l’idée « d’emprunter » des chèvres pour tondre le gazon devenu trop long et amuser au passage les automobilistes. Les chèvres sont devenues résidentes permanentes du marché, et ce, depuis plus de 30 ans. Après le dîner, nous ferons un petit arrêt au parc provincial MacMillan de Cathedral Grove, le vestige rare et menacé d’un ancien écosystème de sapins Douglas. Les plus vieux arbres du parc ont environ 800 ans et mesurent 75 m de haut et 9 m de circonférence. Ce sont les survivants d’un feu de forêt qui a ravagé la région il y a environ 350 ans et de l’invasion encore plus dévastatrice de colons européens qui se sont installés sur l’île de Vancouver à partir de 1849. Nous gagnerons ensuite Tofino où nous serons conviés à une réception de bienvenue et à un souper au Long Beach Lodge. 


Nous commencerons le deuxième jour avec brunch au magnifique Wickaninnish Inn. Nous nous rendrons dans le centre-ville où vous pourrez explorer à votre guise toute la matinée et prendre votre dîner. En après-midi, vous pourrez choisir parmi les activités optionnelles suivantes :

  • Observation des baleines et de la faune à bord du Dixie IV — départ à 14 h — coût : 90 $ — maximum 8 participants

  • Promenade culturelle Nuuchanhulth — coût : 40 $

  • Visite du Tofino-Clayoquot Heritage Museum — GRATUIT!

La troisième journée, ramassez vos boîte-repas et nous quitterons Tofino à 8 h et ferons un arrêt au Port Alberni Museum en route vers l’aéroport de Nanaimo.

Coût : 395 $ + coût d'hébergements. Ceci s'ajoute aux frais d'inscription tout compris! Ouvert aux délégués et aux invités. La visite comprend le transport avec un animateur/interprète à bord, toutes les visites guidées, les présentations, le lunch au Cathedral Grove et le dîner à l'hôtel. Le deuxième jour comprend le transport vers la ville et le brunch au Wickaninnish Inn. Votre choix est ouvert pour le dîner. Le troisième jour comprend un déjeuner en boîte portable pour prendre dans l’autobus et il y aura des rafraîchissements à Port Alberni. Vous serez retourné à l'aéroport de Nanaimo le 15 avril vers 13h pour votre connexion à Vancouver. Les participants doivent faire une réservation pour le vendredi 13 avril et le samedi 14 avril au Best Western Tofino. Pour réserver une chambre, veuillez contacter directement l'hôtel au 1.800.661.9995 ou 250.725.4445 et mentionner le voyage de l’AMC 2018 Tofino. Un tarif spécial de 139$ en occupation simple ou double, excluant les taxes, a été négocié. Minimum de 10 participants requis.

 
             
 

Deux jours — Départ de l’autobus à 8 h30

Whistler, la spectaculaire :
voyage d’études de deux jours suivant le congrès et comprenant notamment la visite du Britannia Mine Museum, de l’Audain Art Museum et du Squamish Lil’Wat Cultural Centre.

 
  Study tour Photos  
   
             
 

Paysages spectaculaires, vues époustouflantes et animaux sauvages émailleront ce fabuleux voyage de deux jours où nous visiterons des musées et des sites novateurs et inspirants. Initialement nommé « London Mountain », Whistler a été rebaptisée officiellement en 1965. Son nom fait référence à la marmotte des Rocheuses très présente dans la région et qui émet des sifflements aigus (whistler signifiant siffleux). Sḵwiḵw, en langue squamish. Nous ferons un premier arrêt au Site historique national primé du Musée de la mine Britannia où nous visiterons les galeries souterraines en petit train, nous transformerons en chercheurs d’or et explorerons des objets historiques et modernes. Nous poursuivrons ensuite notre voyage le long de l’autoroute panoramique Sea to Sky, dînerons à Squamish à la Howe Sound Brewing, la brasserie rustique du Howe Sound Inn offrant des bières locales, un menu varié, des spectacles de musique et un superbe panorama. Nous gagnerons ensuite à pleine vapeur le West Coast Railway Heritage Park, où nous pourrons admirer la célèbre locomotive à vapeur Royal Hudson. Le site d’une superficie de 5 hectares se veut la représentation des installations ferroviaires et d’un centre-ville typiques des années 1950. Il renferme la plus grande collection de matériel ferroviaire roulant de l’ouest du Canada composée de plus de 90 pièces patrimoniales de wagons et d’autres objets. Nous arriverons ensuite à Whistler où vous prendrez possession de votre chambre au superbe Westin Resort and Spa. En soirée, l’Audain Art Museum nous accueille pour une réception de bienvenue. Ce musée, le plus récent de Colombie-Britannique, est voué à l’art créé dans toutes les régions de la Colombie-Britannique. Il présente une impressionnante collection permanente de 200 œuvres d’artistes de la province, d’œuvres centenaires de membres des Premières Nations à des œuvres d’Emily Carr et d’E.J. Hughes. Le souper est libre (non compris dans le coût du voyage).

Le lendemain, nous commencerons la journée par une visite au Whistler Museum où nous serons immergés dans des collections qui mettent en valeur le caractère pionnier, naturel et olympique de Whistler et de son histoire. Nous vivrons ensuite l’expérience Whistler à son meilleur en montant à bord de la gondole qui nous emmènera rapidement au sommet de la montagne. Vous pourrez ensuite prendre la gondole qui monte au sommet 2 franchissant en seulement 11 minutes, un record Guinness, les 4,4 kilomètres à couper le souffle qui séparent le Roundhouse Lodge du mont Whistler et le Rendezvous Lodge du mont Blackcomb. De la gondole PEAK 2 PEAK, vous aurez des perspectives inégalées du toit de la Colombie-Britannique et des vues incomparables de pics volcaniques, de la forêt pluviale côtière et de glaciers anciens. Et l’expérience ne s’arrête pas là! Après votre descente de la gondole, vous pourrez prendre des photos et dîner dans l’un des nombreux restaurants au sommet. Vous serez attendus au pied de la montagne à 16 h. Nous ferons ensuite un arrêt au Maury Young Arts Centre, le carrefour des arts et de la culture à Whistler. Le centre abrite une galerie communautaire, des œuvres d’artisans locaux, une salle de spectacle et des salles multifonctionnelles pour des ateliers et des répétitions. Nous poursuivrons ensuite notre route jusqu’au Squamish Lil’Wat Cultural Centre. Bâti par les nations Squamish et Lil’wat, le centre culturel présente l’art, l’histoire et la culture des deux nations. Un guide nous fera découvrir le musée relatant l’histoire des chasseurs-cueilleurs qui habitaient le territoire. Pour terminer la journée, nous dégusterons un délicieux festin d’inspiration autochtone et assisterons à une présentation culturelle offerte par une troupe de renommée internationale. Le dimanche matin, nous prendrons la route vers Vancouver d’où vous pourrez retourner à la maison.

Coût : 295 $ + coût d'hébergements . Ce voyage n’est pas compris dans le tarif d’inscription! Ouvert aux délégués et à leurs invités. Comprend le transport avec accompagnateur, les visites guidées, les présentations, le dîner et la réception de bienvenue la première journée (souper non compris); le souper (saumon BBQ) le deuxième jour (déjeuner et dîner non compris). Retour à l’hôtel Sheraton Wall Centre vers 10 h 30 le dimanche 15 avril. Les participants doivent faire leurs propres réservations pour les vendredi 13 avril et samedi 14 avril au Westin Resort and Spa, à Whistler. Un tarif préférentiel de 199 $ en occupation simple ou double, avant taxes, a été négocié. L’Internet est gratuit. Veuillez communiquer directement avec l’hôtel au numéro 604-905-5000 pour faire vos réservations, en mentionnant le voyage à Whistler de l’AMC. Vous avez la possibilité de prolonger votre séjour au Westin Resort and Spa pour faire du ski, mais vous devrez organiser votre propre transport pour retourner à Vancouver. Si vous souhaitez partager une chambre avec un autre délégué, veuillez nous écrire à adhesion@musees.ca .
Minimum de 10 participants requis.

 
     
 

Demi-journée — 9 h à 12 h

Les merveilles de la science : visite d’étude d’une demi-journée à Science World BC

 
  Study tour Photos  
   
             
 

Éveillez votre curiosité et découvrez les merveilles de la science grâce aux présentoirs interactifs prisés, aux expositions inspirantes, aux présentations scientifiques à couper le souffle, ainsi qu’à une expérience cinématographique immersive au ciné dôme OMNIMAX®. Les délégués auront accès à l’exposition Ripley’s Believe it or Not et auront droit à une visite en coulisse, pendant laquelle le personnel de Science World présentera les récents projets qui font intervenir l’innovation et la participation du public. Les délégués auront également la possibilité d’explorer les expositions permanentes, de visionner un film OMNIMAX® et de recevoir un rabais de 15 % sur leurs achats à la boutique du centre.

Coût : 20 $. Ouvert aux délégués et aux invités. Comprend le transport, l’entrée, une visite guidée en coulisse, une projection OMNIMAX®, des rafraîchissements et une visite des galeries. Limite de 40 participants.

 
             
 

8 h

Réunion du Conseil autochtone

Uniquement sur invitation!

Study Tours — Offsite Insights

CMA 2018 National Conference Logo
 


► Home


► Introducing Your keynote Speakers


Program Dates


► Monday 09

► Tuesday 10

► Wednesday 11

► Thursday 12

 
Download
PDF files

 

► CMA EXPO 2018
prospectus

► CMA EXPO 2018
floor plan

 

Friday 13 – 14


Study Tours take advantage of local expertise to help you learn more about practical approaches to apply within your institution. You will enter each site through the front door and move through them systematically to get a thorough look behind-the-scenes. You will learn about the exemplary works that fulfill our traditional mandates. You will also learn about different aspects of cultural and heritage tourism. The Study Tours will give you the knowledge to implement action plans in your institutions. The 2018 CMA Conference offers a variety of Study Tours. All tours depart from the Sheraton Wall Centre Hotel. A separate fee is applicable for each tour and includes admission to all sites, guided tours, food, and transportation, accommodation (if required) as specified. Comfortable walking shoes or hiking boots are a must, as is a warm, water- and windproof jacket or coat. Add a hat and a pair of gloves and you’ll be prepared for any weather conditions, but we’re hoping spring will have sprung! Be sure to pack your camera!

Study tours icon

 
 

Two Days — Coach departs at 7:00 a.m.

Terrific Tofino — Vancouver Island:
A two-night post-conference experience featuring the Nanaimo Museum, Cathedral Grove, Clayoquot Sound and so much more.

 
  Study tour Photos  
   
 

 

Welcome to the end of the road! Imagine, all in one place, fishing, kayaking, whale watching, wildlife and bird-watching, hiking, storm-watching and a dynamic arts scene rooted in nature and First Nations Culture. The stunning beauty and ecological diversity of Tofino's location in the Clayoquot Sound UNESCO Biosphere Reserve is the source of all activities. Located in a geographical region called Clayoquot Sound, Tofino comprises approximately 400,000 hectares of land and marine inlets, all draining into a central marine catchment area. The Nuu-chah-nulth First Nations have made Clayoquot Sound their home for thousands of years. Friday morning we’ll board the coach for a trip to Horseshoe Bay where we’ll board a ferry for the 2-hour trip to Departure Bay in Nanaimo. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast on board, at your expense, as you watch the stunning scenery pass by. We’ll be met by coach when we arrive for a brief trip to the Nanaimo Museum. Located in the heart of downtown, the Museum hosts informative and interactive exhibits that tell the story of Nanaimo's history. You can also visit Nanaimo’s most recognizable landmark: the Bastion. Built in 1853, the three floors of the Bastion were skillfully crafted using traditional wood working techniques by workers of the Hudson’s Bay Company. Over the years, politics and land deals saw this sturdy wooden fort moved twice. From Nanaimo, it’s onto Coombs Market for lunch. A local attraction, legend has it that, after a few glasses of wine, the owners suggested that they 'borrow' some goats to ‘mow’ the grass to the roof and perhaps provide some entertainment for passing cars. The goats became permanent tenants and have been there for more than thirty years. After lunch, we’ll make a quick stop at Cathedral Grove in MacMillan Park, a rare and endangered remnant of an ancient Douglas fir ecosystem. The biggest trees in the Grove are about 800 years old and measure 75 m (250 ft) in height and 9 m (29 ft) in circumference. They are the survivors of a forest fire that ravaged the area some 350 years ago and the even more devastating invasion by Europeans who colonized Vancouver Island from 1849. It’s a straight run to Tofino where our day will end with a Welcome Reception and Dinner at Long Beach Lodge.

We’ll start Day Two off with Brunch at the beautiful Wickaninnish Inn. In the morning, you’ll have the opportunity to explore the town at your own leisure. Lunch is on your own. In the afternoon, you can choose from a variety of optional activities including:

  • Whale and wildlife watching aboard the Dixie IV — departs at 2:00 pm — fee $90 — maximum 8 participants

  • Nuuchanhulth Cultural walk — fee $40.

  • Visit the Tofino-Clayoquot Heritage Museum — FREE!

On Day Three, pick up your boxed breakfast and we will depart Tofino at 8 am with a stop at the Port Alberni Museum enroute to the Nanaimo Airport.

Fee: $395 + hotel accommodation. This is in addition to the registration fee! Open to delegates and guests. Tour includes transportation with a facilitator/interpreter onboard, all guided site visits, presentations, lunch at Cathedral Grove dinner at the hotel. Day 2 includes transportation to town and Brunch at the Wickaninnish Inn. Dinner on your own. Day 3 includes a boxed breakfast to take on the bus and light refreshments at Port Alberni. You will be returned to the Nanaimo Airport on April 15th at approximately 1 pm for your connection to Vancouver. Participants need to make a reservation for Friday, April 13th and Saturday, April 14th at the Best Western Tofino. To reserve a room, please contact the hotel directly at 1.800.661.9995 or 250.725.4445 and mention the CMA 2018 Tofino trip. A special rate of $139 single or double occupancy, excluding taxes has been negotiated. A minimum of 10 participants required.

 
 

Two Days — Coach departs at 8:30 a.m.

Wonderful Whistler:
A two-day post-conference study tour featuring the Britannia Mine Museum, Audain Art Museum, Squamish Lil’Wat Cultural Centre and so much more.

 
  Study tour Photos  
   
 

 

Dramatic natural landscapes, stunning views and wildlife are yours to discover in our fabulous two-day tour featuring a range of museums and sites that are truly innovative and inspiring. Originally known as “London Mountain” this magnificent resort area only officially became known as Whistler in 1965. Named from a hoary marmot that’s native to the area, this cute little critter emits a high-pitched whistling noise, hence the name Whistler or in the Squamish language — Sḵwiḵw. Our first stop will be at the award-winning Britannia Mine Museum National Historic Site. Ride a train, pan for gold and explore historic and modern exhibits. The tour continues along the scenic Sea to Sky Highway with a stop for lunch in Squamish at Howe Sound Brewing, a rustic brewpub in the Howe Sound Inn offering craft beers, varied grub, live music & scenic views. Then it’s full steam ahead to the West Coast Railway Heritage Park, home of the world-famous Royal Hudson steam locomotive. This 12-acre site represents a typical mid-20th century railway facility and town centre, housing the largest collection of railway rolling stock in Western Canada, featuring more than 90 pieces of heritage railway cars and artifacts. It’s a short drive to Whistler where you’ll check in at the lovely Westin Resort and Spa. This evening, delegates will be hosted by the Audain Art Museum at a Welcome Reception. As British Columbia’s newest museum, the Audain is dedicated to art that has been created throughout BC and along its multiple shores. Housing an impressive 200-piece permanent collection, the Audain has works by BC artists that range from centuries-old First Nations art to pieces by Emily Carr and E.J. Hughes. Dinner at leisure (not included).

Day two starts off with a visit to the Whistler Museum where you’ll immerse yourself in Whistler's collections that highlight pioneer, natural and Olympic history and resort development. Then it’s onto more unforgettable iconic Whistler experiences! We’ll board the Whistler Gondola for a quick trip up the mountain. You’ll be able to connect to the Peak 2 Peak Gondola for a breath-taking trip traveling 4.4 kilometres in just 11 minutes, transporting you from Whistler’s Roundhouse Lodge to the Rendezvous Lodge on Blackcomb Mountain. Spanning the distance between Whistler and Blackcomb Mountains, the Guinness World Record-breaking PEAK 2 PEAK Gondola provides an unparalleled perspective of British Columbia's rooftop and incomparable views of towering volcanic peaks, coastal rainforests, and ancient glaciers. Disembark and the experience is far from over. Stop for photos, enjoy lunch at one of the many restaurants on top of the mountain. You’ll need to “climb” back down the mountain for 4 pm. Our second last stop is to the Maury Young Arts Centre, the hub for everything arts and culture in Whistler. The Arts Centre hosts a community gallery, local artisan wares, a performance theatre, and multi-purpose rooms for workshops and rehearsals. From there it is onto the Squamish Lil’Wat Cultural Centre. Built by the Squamish and Lil’wat Nations, the Cultural Centre houses and showcases art, history and culture from the two nations. A tour guide will accompany you through the museum as you discover stories of the hunters and gatherers who traditionally inhabited the sea to sky territory. Your day will be topped off with a delicious Indigenous inspired feast complete with a cultural presentation by a world-renowned performance team. Sunday morning, we’re back on the bus to Vancouver for your return trip home.

Fee: $295 + hotel accomodations. This is in addition to the registration fee! Open to delegates and guests. Tour includes transportation with a facilitator/interpreter onboard, all guided site visits, presentations, lunch and Welcome Reception on Day 1. Dinner on your own. Day 2 includes a Salmon BBQ dinner. Breakfast and lunch on your own. You will be returned to the Sheraton Wall Centre Hotel on April 15th at approximately 10:30 am. Participants need to make a reservation for Friday, April 13th and Saturday, April 14th at the Westin Resort and Spa, Whistler. A special rate of $199 single or double occupancy, excluding taxes has been negotiated. Complimentary internet is included! Please contact the hotel directly at 604-905-5000 to make your reservation. Please be sure to mention CMA Whistler Tour. Should you wish to ski after the Tour, you may extend your time at the Westin Resort and Spa, Whistler but you will need to make your own arrangements for your return to Vancouver. If you are interested in sharing a room, please contact membership@museums.ca .
A minimum of 10 participants required.

 
     
 

Half Day — 9:00 – noon

The Wonders of Science — Science World BC

 
  Study tour Photos  
   
 

 

Ignite your mind and discover the wonders of science with popular, hands-on interactive displays, inspirational feature exhibitions, jaw-dropping science shows and immersive film experiences in the domed OMNIMAX® Theatre. Delegates will have access to the Ripley’s Believe it or Not exhibition, and will receive a behind-the-scenes tour where Science World staff will highlight recent projects in exhibit innovation and community engagement. Delegates will also be given the opportunity to explore the permanent galleries, see an OMNIMAX® film and receive a 15% discount on purchases in our Kaleidoscope Science Store.

Fee: $20. Open to delegates and guests. Includes transportation, admission, guided behind-the-scenes tour, OMNIMAX® film, light refreshments and gallery exploration. Limited to 40 participants.

 
             
 

8:00 a.m.

Indigenous Council Meeting

By Invitation Only